Press Release


Astronaut Hoshide Starts
the International Space Station (ISS) Expedition Mission

July 17, 2012 (JST)

Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)

Astronaut Akihiko Hoshide, who arrived at the International Space Station (ISS) by the Soyuz spacecraft (31S/TMA-05M), has begun his long-duration stay as the 32nd and 33rd expedition crew member. He will remain onboard the ISS for about four months until returning on the Soyuz spacecraft (31S/TMA-05M) in November 2012.

Docking Date/Time:

July 17, 2012 1:51 p.m. (JST)
July 17, 2012 8:51 a.m.(Moscow Standard Time)

Hatch Open Date/Time:

July 17, 2012 4:23 p.m. (JST)
July 17, 2012 11:23 a.m. (Moscow Standard Time)

Reference links for further information:

Comment by JAXA President
Beginning of Astronaut Hoshide's Long-Duration Stay on the ISS

The Soyuz TMA-05M spacecraft has succeeded in docking to the ISS today. Now Japanese Astronaut Hoshide's 4-month expedition has begun.

Astronaut Hoshide conducted the assembly of "Kibo" module during the STS-124 (1J) mission (June 1-15, 2008), and has returned to his "home" in space after 4 years' absence. I strongly believe that he will accomplish the duties on the ISS and "Kibo" making the most of his hard training.

I sincerely appreciate the support and cooperation from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), the Russian Federal Space Agency (FSA), all other domestic and overseas organizations, and all individuals who have granted their effort and helpfulness to us. I wish for your continuous kind support.

Thank you.

July 17, 2012

Keiji Tachikawa
Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)